Inaugurated in 2007, the Mill Valley Film Festival Award is a specially designed bronze sculpture created by Mill Valley artist Alice Corning, each one individually cast for the recipient in a numbered, limited edition. The MVFF Award is presented to the recipients of Tributes and Spotlights, our special programs honoring and celebrating the work of distinguished artists and innovators in the filmmaking community.

Corning says of her artwork, “The purpose is to show the power and dignity of a human being… as it is with great work in film.”


An MVFF Tribute program celebrates lifetime achievements in the career of a significant film artist.


2021 Kenneth Branagh
2020 Dame Judi Dench
2020 Sir Anthony Hopkins
2020 Sophia Loren
2020 Kate Winslet
2019 Barbara Rush
2019 Michael Apted
2019 Alfre Woodard
2018 Paweł Pawliskowski
2018 Paul Greengrass
2017 Kristin Scott Thomas
2017 Sean Penn
2017 Holly Hunter
2017 Todd Haynes
2016 Nicole Kidman
2016 Julie Dash
2015 Catherine Hardwicke
2015 Ian McKellen
2015 Marcel Ophüls
2014 Laura Dern
2014 Chuck Workman
2013 Geoffrey Rush
2013 Ben Stiller
2013 Costa-Gavras
2012 Dustin Hoffman
2012 Mira Nair
2011 Glenn Close
2011 Gaston Kaboré
2010 Annette Bening
2010 Edward Norton
2009 Anna Karina
2009 Uma Thurman
2009 Woody Harrelson
2008 Eric Roth
2008 Harriet Andersson
2008 Paul Schrader
2008 Alfre Woodard
2007 Ang Lee


An MVFF Spotlight program celebrates exceptional work by a film artist in their most current work. Honorees may be in early, mid, or late career.


2021 Paolo Sorrentino (The Hand of God)
2021 Simon Rex (Red Rocket)
2021 Denis Villeneuve (Dune)
2021 Ensemble Spotlight: Maggie Gyllenhaal and cast of The Lost Daughter
2020 Clare Dunne (Herself)
2020 Regina King (One Night in Miami)
2020 Delroy Lindo (Da 5 Bloods)
2020 Ensemble Spotlight: Aaron Sorkin and cast of The Trial of the Chicago 7
2019 Robert Pattinson (The Lighthouse)
2019 Olivia Wilde (Booksmart)
2019 Marriage Story Ensemble: Noah Baumbach, Laura Dern, Julie Hagerty
2019 Kristen Stewart (Sebold)
2018 Richard E. Grant (Can You Ever Forgive Me)
2018 Karyn Kusama (Destroyer)
2018 Joel Edgerton (Boy Erased)
2018 Paul Dano (Wildlife)
2018 Amanda Stenberg (The Hate U Give)
2017 Dee Rees (Mudbound)
2017 Jason Clarke (Chappaquiddick)
2017 Andrew Garfield (Breathe)
2016 Ewan McGregor (American Pastoral)
2016 Gael Garcia Bernal (Neruda)
2016 Annette Bening, Elle Fanning, Lucas Jade Zumann, Mike Mills (20th Century Women)
2016 Aaron Eckhart (Bleed for This)
2015 Brie Larson (Room)
2015 Carey Mulligan (Suffragette)
2015 Sarah Silverman (I Smile Back)
2014 Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)
2014 Elle Fanning (Low Down)
2013 Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)
2013 Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave)
2013 Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
2012 John Hawkes (The Sessions)
2012 Billy Bob Thornton (Jayne Mansfield’s Car)
2011 Michelle Yeoh (The Lady)
2011 Elizabeth Olsen (Martha Marcy May Marlene)
2011 Ezra Miller (We Need to Talk About Kevin)
2010 James Franco (127 Hours)
2010 Alejandro González Iñárritu (Biutiful)
2009 Clive Owen (The Boys Are Back)
2009 Jason Reitman (Up in the Air)
2008 Sally Hawkins (Happy-Go-Lucky)
2007 Jennifer Jason Leigh (Margot at the Wedding)
2007 Terry George (Reservation Road)